البـرنامـج التأسيسي العـام (GFP)

76

يتكـون البرنامج التأسيسي العـام بجامعة الشـرقيـة من أربعة عناصر: اللغة الإنجليزية والرياضيات وتقنية المعلومات ومهارات الدراسة. تلتزم كل العناصر بمعايير ومقاييس التعليم العالي كما هو منصوص عليه بالهيئة العمانية للاعتماد الاكاديمي. يجب أن يخضع جميع الطلاب الجدد في جامعة الشـرقيـة لاختبار تحديد للمستوى يتم اجراءه في أسبوع التوجيه بكل من الفصل الدراسي الأول والفصل الدراسي الثاني .حيث يتم توزيع الطلبة على مجموعات وفقا لمستوى الأداء في اختبار تحديد المستوى و بناء على نتيجة الطالب يتم تقسيمهم الى 3 مستويات:  مبتدئ ، ومتوسط ومتقدم وعليهم متابعة برنامج دراسي معين يؤدي إلى الحصول على شهادات التخرج : مجموع 60% على الأقل من خلال تقييم داخلي. اما بالنسبة الى الرياضيات الأساسية والرياضيات البحتة أو الرياضيات التطبيقية (تبعاً للتخصصات الأكاديمية والكليات، التي سينضم الطلاب إليها بعد تخرجهم من البرنامج التأسيسي) فكذلك يجب اجتيازها بحد أدنى 60 %.  وبالنسبة الى تقنية المعلومات فيجب على الطلاب اجتياز تقييم داخلي مع مجموع 60 % على الأقل.

تساعد الفصول الدراسية في اللغة الإنجليزية على الإعداد المكثف للطلاب للدراسة في الجامعات والكليات بتطوير مهاراتهم في اللغة الإنجليزية في الاستماع والتحدث والقراءة والكتابة بالإضافة إلى مهارات الدراسة الأكاديمية والعـامة.تشكل قواعد اللغة والمفردات اثنين من مكونات اللغة التي يتم بناؤها في جميع المهارات اللغوية، ويمكن اكتسابها بطريقة غير مباشرة من خلال التعرض وتعلم هذه المهارات. وهناك العديد من الفرص والأنشطة للتعامل مع هذه المكونات من جانب المدرسين والطلاب. بيد انه نظراً لأهميتها في اكتساب اللغة بشكل عام ، فان قواعد اللغة يتم تدريسها بانتظام في دورات دراسية منفصلة في جميع مستويات البرنامج التأسيسي العام.

فيما يتعلق بعنصر الرياضيات، سيدرس الطلاب الرياضيات الأساسية والبحتة أو الرياضيات التطبيقية تبعاً للتخصصات الأكاديمية للطلبة. وبالنسبة لعنصر تقنية المعلومات، يلتزم الطلاب بدراسة واجتياز دورتين (IT1)و(IT2) والتي تؤهلهم لاستخدام الحاسب في المجال الاكاديمي ومجال الأعمال.

The General Foundation Program (GFP)

76

The General Foundation Program (GFP) at A’Sharqiyah University consists of four components: English, mathematics, Information Technology (IT), and study skills.  All components follow the criteria and standards of higher education as stipulated by the Oman Academic Accreditation Authority (OAAA).  All newly-registered students of A’Sharqiyah University have to take a placement test to be administered in the orientation week of the first and second semesters.  Students are assigned to groups based on their performance on the placement test.  Based upon placement test results, students are assigned one of three levels: Pre-Intermediate, Intermediate, or Advanced.   As determined by their initial level, students have to follow the prescribed study path that will lead to the exit certificates: a score of at least 60% through internal assessment.  Basic Mathematics and either Pure Mathematics or Applied Mathematics (depending upon the academic specializations and the colleges the students will join after their exit from the GFP) are to be passed at a minimum score of 60%.  For the IT component students are required to pass an internal assessment with an average of at least 60%.

Classes in the English Component of the GFP intensively prepare students for university and college studies by developing their English skills in listening, speaking, reading, and writing in addition to general and academic study skills.  Grammar and vocabulary are two language components which are built into all language skills and can be acquired indirectly through the exposure and learning of these skills.  There are many opportunities and activities to deal with these components by teachers and students.  However, due to its importance for language acquisition in general, grammar is taught systematically in separate courses at all levels of the General Foundation Program.

In the Mathematics Component, students study Basic Mathematics and Pure or Applied Mathematics depending upon the students’ academic specializations.  For the IT Component, students are required to study and pass the two courses, IT1 and IT2, which will prepare them for computer use in academic and business settings.