قسـم العلوم البحرية والسمكية

2

تحتل سلطنة عمان موقعا استراتيجيا في منطقة الخليج والمحيط الهندي مع خط ساحلي ممتد لمسـافة 3165 كم ذومياه نقية، وتشغل البلاد موقعاً جغرافيًا متميزاً مع تـوافر البنية التحتية الممتازة، وتشكـل التقاليد المعترف بها دوليا لصيد الأسماك نشاطا هاما للأمة منذ آلاف السنين. ويعمل حالياً حوالي 45.000 شخص عماني كصيادين، ويعمل حوالي 10.000-12.000 شخص في الصناعات المساعدة وتسويق الاسماك، ونقلها، والخدمات ذات الصلة. وسيتم توفير 12 ألف وظيفة أخرى مع ظهور قطاع تربية الأحياء المائية في السنوات العشرين المقبلة، وسيشارك حوالي 50.000-60.000 عماني في صيد الاسماك باستخدام القوارب المصنوعة من الالياف الزجاجية التي يبلغ عددها  18027 .

ان التحديات الرئيسية التي تواجه عمان في القرن الحادي والعشرين تكمن في الاستمرار في النهوض بمجالات العلوم والسياسة كقاعدة ضرورية لتوفير التنمية والإدارة المستدامة لهذه الثروات البحرية الشاسعة. ستكون هناك حاجة مستمرة لطلاب مدربين تدريبا جيدا ومتخصصين في الثروة السمكية ضمن مجموعة من التخصصات داخل سلطنة عمان.

وفي اطار الدعم المقدم الى قطاع الثروة السمكية ، وافقت الحكومة على ضخ مبلغ 500 مليون ريال عماني (1.3 بيليون دولار) كتمويل لقطاع الثروة السمكية. سيتم ضخ هذه المساهمة المهمة من الحكومة في تطوير البنية التحتية، مثل موانيء الصيـد ومصـانع الاسمـاك. وستكون الخطوة الثانية هي تطوير مرافق تربية الأحياء المائية ودعمها عبر تطوير أساطيل للصيد وتنمية الموارد البشرية من خلال التدريب. بالاضافة الى دعم تطوير منتجات ذات قيمة مضافة وتطوير الاسواق لاستيعاب مثل هذه المشاريع.

جامعة الشـرقيـة هي إحدى مؤسسات التعليم العالي الخاصة وتقع في شرق البلاد. قـررت جامعة الشرقيـة اضافة قسـم لإدارة العلوم البحرية والسمكية الى البرامج الجامعية القائمة في الجامعة. يتضمن نطاق برامج إدارة العلوم السمكية للمرحلة الجامعية، تدريس العلوم الأساسية والتطبيقية المائية مع التركيز على إدارة الثروة السمكية والعلوم البحرية في شهادة الدبلوم التي تؤدي إلى درجة البكالوريوس. سيتمكن أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين والطلاب من الوصول الى المواطن المائية المختلفة والموارد البيولوجية الغنية في سلطنة عمان من خلال بحثهم الذي سيجري في مركز ابحاث صـور؛ وسوف يشاركون في شراكات متعددة التخصصات مع البرامج الأكاديمية المختلفة، وكذلك المنظمات العامة والخاصة المتعلقة بادارة الثروة السمكية والوكالات التنظيمية الأخرى.

العلوم البحرية هي علوم متعـددة التخصصـات تشمل الابعاد المادية والبيولوجية وبعض الأبعاد الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للبيئة البحرية. سوف يقدم قسم العلوم البحرية والسمكية بجامعة الشـرقيـة لمستويين من المقررات الجامعية في العلوم البحرية والسمكية، مستوى الدبلوم وصولاً الى مستوى البكالوريوس مع دورات في العلوم البحرية والسمكيـة.

الفرص الوظيفية

يتزايد عدد الوظائف في مجال العلوم البحرية والسمكية زيادة مطردة بسبب العوامل الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والتشريعية. يمكن لخريجي قسم العلوم البحرية والسمكية العمل لدى مجموعة واسعة من الشركات. مثل: الجامعات، ومصائد الأسماك وتربية الأحياء المائية في القطاع الخاص والسلطات الإقليمية المحلية والمجالس الإقليمية، ووزارة الزراعة والثروة السمكية، ووزارة البيئة والشؤون المناخية، قسم الوقـاية

الأهـــداف

يهـدف قسم العلوم البحرية والسمكية المؤسس حديثاً بجامعة الشـرقيـة إلى تدريب الطلاب من خلال برامج متقدمة ومنهجية بما في ذلك التعليم في المواقع لتزويدهم بالمهارات والقدرات اللازمة للقيام بدور فعال في الحفاظ على البيئة البحرية والنظم الإيكولوجية والإنتاج المستدام للموارد البيولوجية البحرية. ويوفر البرنامج التعليمي تدريس العلوم البحرية والسمكية؛ التفاعل بين المحيطات والأراضي؛ علم البيئة البحرية؛ تربية وتكاثر الكائنات والموارد البحرية؛ وتفاعل الكائنات البحرية مع البيئة، وهي اساس العلوم البحرية الميدانية. وبما أن إدارة البيئة والموارد البحرية هي مسألة ينبغي معالجتها، فيجب أن يكتسب الطلاب مهارات الاتصال العلمي الكافية والقدرة على إجراء البحوث الأساسية. وبالتالي سيوفر هذا القسم المعارف والمهارات اللازمة للطلاب من اجل:

  1. الفهـم الشامل للأحياء البحرية والبيئة وعلوم البحار، وهي اسس مهمة، وسيتم أيضا اكتساب المعرفة المتعلقة بدورة المياه وجودتها
  2. اكتساب القدرة على تصميم البحوث، وكتابة الوثائق العلمية وتقييمهـا.
  3. اكتساب القدرة على جمع المعلومات العلمية الصحيحة والمهارات التحليلية والقدرة على خلق الأفكار من خلال التعلم الميداني العملي
  4. اكتسـاب مهارات الاتصال العلمي باللغة الإنكليزية من خلال المحاضرات والعروض الشفوية باللغة الإنجليزية التي يعقدها الطلاب في الحلقات الدراسية.

Dep. of Fisheries and Marine science

2
fisheries-collegeofapplied-sciences Oman occupies a strategic position in the Indian Ocean and Gulf Region with extended coastal line of 3165 km, with clean water, the country is ideally placed geographically with excellent infrastructure, an internationally recognized tradition of fishing been an important activity for the nation for thousands of years. Currently, almost 45,000 Omanis working as fishermen. Another 10,000-12,000 work in supporting industries, in fish marketing, transport, and related services. And another 12,000 jobs will be created with the advent of the aquaculture sector in the next 20 years. Approximately 50,000-60,000 Omanis will be engaged in fishing with existing number of 18027 fiberglass boats.

A major challenge facing Oman in the 21st century is to continue to advance the science and policy base necessary to provide for development and sustainable management of this vast marine realm. There will clearly be an ongoing need for well-trained fisheries students in a range of disciplines within Oman.

In support of fisheries sector the government approved funds of 500 million OMR ($1.3 billion) to be pumped into fisheries. Such an important contribution by the government will be pumped in the infrastructure development, such as fishing ports and fish factories. The second step will be the development of aquaculture and support facilities, i.e.  Development of fishing fleet as well as human resource development through training. Last component of support is aimed at the development of value-added products and developing markets for such projects.
fisheries-collegeofapplied-sciences001 A’sharqiyah University is  (ASU) a public private sector new institution of higher learning (HEI) is located in the Eastern expansion of the country. ASU has decided to add Fisheries and Marine Science Department to the existing undergraduate programs of the university. The breadth and scope of the fisheries department programs for undergraduate, teaching basic and applied aquatic sciences with an emphasis on Fisheries Management and Marine Science in a Diploma leading to an undergraduate (B.S.) degree Program. The faculty, staff and students will have access to aquatic habitats and rich biological resources of Oman through their research station at Sur; they will be involved in interdisciplinary partnerships with other academic programs, as well as public and private fisheries organizations and regulatory agencies.
Marine Science is an interdisciplinary/multi-disciplinary endeavor encompassing the physical, biological, some social and economic dimensions of the marine environment. The newly established Fisheries and Marine Science Department at A’Sharqiyah University will offer two levels of undergraduate courses in Fisheries and Marine Science, Diploma level that can be extended to BSc with courses in Marine Sciences, and Fisheries.
Career opportunities
The number of jobs in Marine Science is increasing steadily due to economic, social and legislative factors. Fisheries and Marine Science graduates can find employment in a wide range of areas. Such as: Universities – Private Sector for example fisheries and aquaculture. Local Territorial Authorities, Regional Councils, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, Ministry for the Environment, Department of Conservation.
Goals & objectives
The newly established Department of Fisheries and Marine Science at A’sharqiyah University aims to train students through advanced and systematic course work including practical on-site education to equip them with the skills and abilities to carry out active role on the conservation of the marine environment, ecosystem and the sustainable production of marine biological resources. The program offers education on fisheries and marine science; interaction between the ocean, and land; marine ecology; breeding and reproduction of marine resource organisms; and responses of marine organisms to the environment, which are the foundation of marine field science. In addition, since management of the marine environment and resources is an issue which should be resolved, students must acquire sufficient scientific communication skills and ability to conduct basic research. Thus, this Department will offer knowledge and skills necessary for:

  1. Students will acquire comprehensive understanding of marine biology, environment, and oceanography, which are important bases, and will also gain knowledge on water circulation and quality.
  2. Students will acquire the ability to design research, and write and evaluate scientific documents.
  3. Students will acquire the ability to gather correct scientific information, analytical skills, and the ability to create ideas through practical field learning.
  4. Students will acquire scientific communication skills in English through lectures and oral presentations in English in student-led seminars.